An unknown stranger called me doll-dear
and told me I was all fine and sweet.
Wanted to be my mister Halloween
but it was a wonder -
he did not know me, he was not deep.
And he was not you.

Promised to cover me with presents and ribbons:
to be always mine and that I'd love him too.
What a silly, Sally - me:
imagining that he'd be frightning you:
Singing all my sorrow's away
upon a mountain that gave away
the lock, shock and barrel 
holding on to my rotten heart.

You with no name, no face and no eyes.
You with heart full of tale-telling lies.

The sour romance and the sweetest dream.
My Jack of hearts and bitter realms.

Never mine and never to be.
This nightmare never feels surreal.

So I'm giving under
this neverlasting dream.

Maybe.

Maybe during the next Halloween.

(You will miss me too.)